?

Log in

entries friends calendar profile Firefly Games Previous Previous Next Next
[Books] - Patrick
patricks
patricks
[Books]
6. Old Man's War, by John Scalzi
7. The Ghost Brigades, by John Scalzi

I've heard good things about Scalzi's sf books & finally picked up a couple. I enjoyed these quite a lot - very much in the vein of Starship Troopers, Forever War and Ender's Game, with the twist that the soldiers are 70-year-old humans who are placed via consciousness-transfer into cloned 20-year-old super-soldier bodies to fight an endless war for habitable planets against a motley assortment of alien races. Very fun stuff. There are two more books in this series, both retellings of the story from different viewpoints. I have those on a checkout list from Amazon but haven't finished the order yet.

8. The Nine, by Jeffrey Toobin
Non-fiction book on the Supreme Court from the late '90s to 2005 or so, including the Clinton impeachment, Bush vs. Gore ruling, and death of Rehnquist. Very interesting. I'd earlier read The Brethren, on the court in the late '60s-early '70s, and Turning Right, on the court in the '80s and '90s.

Tags:
Current Mood: cheerful cheerful